Colorado River District Board

MemberAppointedTerm ExpiresRe-appointmentComments
Alden Vanden Brink01-201501-202401-2021

For an application to serve on this board, please contact Laura Smith at (970) 878-9570. Applications can be returned to the Rio Blanco County Human Resources Department, Meeker Courthouse, 3rd Floor, PO Box i, Meeker, CO  81641, or emailed to


  • Quarterly


  • Resident of Rio Blanco County for the past 2 years prior to appointment
  • Within the last calendar year paid taxes on real estate in Rio Blanco County

About the Board

The Board of Commissioners appoint one (1) member for a three (3) year term.  

The Colorado River Water Conservation District (River District) is a public water policy agency chartered by the Colorado General Assembly in 1937 to be “the appropriate agency for the conservation, use and development of the water resources of the Colorado River and its principal tributaries in Colorado.”  We are the principal water policy and planning agency for the Colorado River Basin within the State of Colorado and provide legal, technical, and political representation regarding Colorado River issues for our constituents.

The district is comprised of 15 West Slope counties in which a majority of the Colorado River Basin in the State of Colorado exists.