Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
To be a member of 4-H in Colorado, youth may be no younger than 5 years old no older than 18 years old on December 31st of the current enrollment year. The Colorado 4-H enrollment is open 365 days a year for new members. The enrollment year begins October 1st. Returning members must re-enroll by February 1. The age of participants in 4-H programs is determined by the age of each youth on December 31st of the enrollment year. Cloverbuds is the name given to the non-competitive Colorado 4-H Youth Development Program for 5 to 7 year-olds.
4-H is sponsored in Colorado by Extension of Colorado State University. Nationally, it is part of Extension Service in the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The people in charge of 4-H locally are the County Extension Director & Ag Agent Linda Masters, 4-H Coordinators Tera Shults and Jayda Lewis and Admin Support Inge Bair supported in part by your Rio Blanco County Commissioners.
Applications for Medicaid can be picked up at the Meeker or Rangely Offices. Or apply online at PEAK
Visit PEAK to see if you have Medicaid coverage and to request your Medicaid cards.
Applications can be picked up at the DHS office's in Meeker and Rangely. Electronic applications are available from
Individuals may dispose of up to 9 rimless tires. Businesses are not allowed to dispose of tires and must find a legal recycling method for waste tires. Overton Recycling is one local alternative and may be reached at (970) 683-8219.
The Landfill is open to the public from Monday through Saturday, 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM.
The landfill charges by weight. The rate for most household waste is $40 per ton (2,000 pounds) or 2 cents per pound.
The landfill is certified to accept friable and non-friable asbestos, but only if it is pre-approved, the proper procedures are followed and it is handled and wrapped in a specific manner. See the asbestos section on the landfill page and check out the State of Colorado webpage under Quick Links.
The impact fees cannot be used for maintenance and repair of existing capital facilities. For example, impact fees cannot be used to patch a road, but they can be used to build a new road or upgrade a road from County specifications to State specifications so it can withstand the heavy truck traffic.
There are additional capital items, such as schools, hospitals and items for each municipality which are not included in the RPI study or the impact fees, but which are very real needs. The impact fee cannot be expected to pay 100% of the cost of the impacts on County infrastructure. By law the County will have to pay for a portion of the impact through existing sources, such as property taxes, severance taxes and mineral leasing funds.
Please contact the Building Division at 970-878-9450 with any questions.
Impact Fees related to oil or gas wells should be paid to:Rio Blanco County TreasurerP.O. Box 651Meeker, CO 81641
Please contact Debbie Morlan at 970-878-9610 with any questions. The following identifying information must be provided along with payment: - COGCC API Number -OR- a copy of the spud notice - Drilling Date - Name of Fee Payer/Company - Well name and number
Impact Fees related to any other development activities, any planned unit development, special use permit, conditional use permit, temporary use permit, special use license, or subdivision plat will be calculated during the permitting process and should be paid to:Planning and Development DepartmentP.O. Box 599Meeker, CO, 81641
Please contact the Planning Department at 970-878-9584 with any questions.
Generally, your mortgage company will present the information pertaining to your paid-off loan to the Public Trustee for release. After recording the release, this lien will no longer be attached to your property. If a mailing address is provided by your mortgage company at this time, the release will be returned to you.
Fees are typically submitted to the Public Trustee by the lender for releases, or by the attorney for foreclosure. Below is a list of some of the fees: - Certificate of Redemption: $43 - Confirmation Deed: $43 - Curing Default (Withdrawal): $48 for 1 page - Release of Deed of Trust: $28 for 1 page release; $5 for each additional page - Start of Foreclosure: Up to $500 The Public Trustee has many other fees, depending on the function performed. All fees and costs are set by Colorado State Statute.
Contact the Colorado Foreclosure Hotline, at 1-877-601-HOPE. This is a free service for homeowners who have missed a payment or are in danger of foreclosure. Call for free advice. The Colorado Foreclosure Hotline connects homeowners with trained professional housing counselors. These counselors will help borrowers understand their options while working with the borrower and the lender to help avoid foreclosure. Call toll-free at 1-877-601-HOPE, and for more information, visit Colorado Foreclosure Hotline. From the Colorado Attorney General's office: You might receive offers of "help" from complete strangers in the mail, over the telephone, and at your door. Some of these people may attempt to steal the equity you have built up in your home. Don't sign any documents until you have had time to review them carefully. Contact a HUD-approved housing counselor or private attorney to help you review and understand the documents. Remember - Any kind of "Deed" (warranty deed or quit claim deed) means you are selling your home. Contact your lender, explain your financial situation, and work out a payment plan. A foreclosure against your home officially begins when a document called a "Notice of Election and Demand" is recorded. You will receive formal notice of this document from your Public Trustee. The foreclosure sale of your property will take place between 110 and 125 calendar days (for non-agricultural property) after the Notice is recorded. The law gives you the right to bring your loan current to stop the foreclosure. To do this, you must file a Notice of Intent to Cure with your Public Trustee at least 15 days before the scheduled sale date. Contact the Public Trustee's office for further information. Also, contact your Attorney for assistance.
Rio Blanco Alert is an emergency notification service that allows emergency officials to notify residents and businesses by telephone, cell phone, text message, email and social media regarding time-sensitive general and emergency notifications. Only authorized officials have access to the Rio Blanco Alert system.
Any message regarding the safety, property or welfare of the community will be disseminated using the Rio Blanco Alerts system. These may include AMBER alerts, notifications of hazardous traffic or road conditions, boil water advisories or evacuation notices.
This system is an enhancement to existing means of communication and is meant to supplement current or past systems used for mass notification.
The Rio Blanco Alerts database contains information received from public databases, including regional phone books. However, no resident should assume that their information is in the system. If you can not register online, you can call 970-878-9600 and speak with one of our communications specialists to complete your registration over the telephone. Or just send us an email with the following information: - Full Name - Address - Phone Numbers - Cell phone provider (if your want to receive text messages) and if you want to receive both Emergency and General Information calls.
Yes. When registering select the business option. Please note that emergency calls can only be delivered to a direct dial number. Automated attendants will disrupt the process and the calls will not be delivered. Businesses should register their main number and establish a procedure for distributing the Rio Blanco Alerts message to their workforce.
You can add four phone numbers on the initial registration and you may start the registration process again and submit more numbers for the same address.
A Rio Blanco Alerts Emergency message will have a caller ID of 866-419-5000. A Rio Blanco Alerts General message will have a caller ID 855-969-4636. We suggest you program both numbers in your cell phone as a new contact and use “Rio Blanco Alerts Emergency” and “Rio Blanco Alerts General” as the contact name. If you need to replay the emergency notification message again, simply dial the number and you will be able to hear the message again.
Listen carefully to the entire message. You will have the option to repeat the message by pressing any key. Do not call 911 for further information unless directed to do so or if you need immediate aid from the Police or Fire department.
Make sure you have at least one working corded telephone – and be sure to turn the ringer on. The Rio Blanco Alerts sign-up form allows you to indicate both a primary and alternate phone number. Cell phone and/or work phone numbers can be entered as alternate phone numbers. Both primary and alternate phone numbers will be contacted when a notification is sent.
Yes, the Rio Blanco Alerts system will leave a message on a machine or on voicemail. The Rio Blanco Alerts system will leave the entire message in one pass.
If the line is busy, Rio Blanco Alerts will try two more times to connect.
- If your contact information has changed and you have not registered your new information. - If you only a landline at your residence, the power is out and you did not register an alternate phone number. - If your line is busy for an extended time and your calls do not forward to voicemail or an answering machine. - If you have a privacy manager on your main phone and you did not register an alternate phone number. Rio Blanco County will receive a report of undelivered calls and can instruct the Rio Blanco Alerts system to begin another round of calls to busy numbers. It is best to have an alternate phone number in the calling database for these situations.
DR0172 Contractor Application for Exemption (PDF)
DR 0137 Claim for Refund (PDF)
Please check with the Rio Blanco County Road and Bridge Department for any closures or restriction in place at the time you plan to move. You may also be required to obtain permitting from the State of Colorado, which may be handled by your mover.
To insure mailings are delivered to any one other than the assessed owner, we can add "In Care of" and change the address to a current one. This does not transfer the title, it only insures notification is received.
Property taxes are due January 1 for the previous year. Payment may be paid in two equal installments or in one full installment.
Half Payment Option - 1st Payment Due February 28 - 2nd Payment Due June 15th
Whole Payment Option - Payment Due April 30th.
Interest on late payment is collected at 1% per month.